Skip to content Homepage Site Map Details Access Key Details
Skip the NI Direct Bar
Department of the Environment (DOE)

Northern Ireland Environment Agency

Driver & Vehicle Agency

Local Government Reform

The future of local government

The reform of local government will see the reduction of 26 councils to 11.  The 11 new councils will take over on 1 April 2015.

The new councils will be stronger, more efficient and will deliver more effective services. They will be citizen focused, responding to the needs, aspirations and concerns of their communities.  In partnership with others, they will guide the future development of their areas.  Read more about the benefits of local government reform here:

Local Government Reform - Back to basics... What are the benefits? (PDF 113kb).PDF Document. Opens in a new window.

The new council districts are:

New Councils District Map


Antrim and Newtownabbey DistrictOpens in a new window.

Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon DistrictOpens in a new window.

Belfast DistrictOpens in a new window.

Causeway Coast and Glens DistrictOpens in a new window.

Derry and Strabane DistrictOpens in a new window.

Fermanagh and Omagh DistrictOpens in a new window.

Lisburn and Castlereagh DistrictOpens in a new window.

Mid and East Antrim DistrictOpens in a new window.

Mid Ulster DistrictOpens in a new window.

Newry, Mourne and Down DistrictOpens in a new window.

North Down and Ards DistrictOpens in a new window.


Legislation has been made to define the boundaries of the 11 new local government districts. It also sets the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each district will be divided.  View maps of the districts, boundaries and wards.

The Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 2014 is also now in place, and introduces the legislative framework for the new councils. Read more about the legislative framework here.

Functions to transfer from central to local government

The package has been agreed by the Executive.

Powers will transfer in planning, roads, urban regeneration, community development, local economic development and local tourism. The transfer will also include spot listing of buildings and greater involvement of local government in local sports decisions.

For a full list of powers to transfer please click the link below:

Powers agreed by the Executive to transfer to local councils in April 2015 (PDF 14.5 kb) PDF Document. Opens in a new window.

Councils will also have a new statutory duty of Community Planning and the General Power of Competence:

Community planning

This will provide a framework within which Councils, departments, statutory bodies and other relevant agencies and sectors can work together to develop and implement a shared vision for promoting the economic, social and environmental well-being of their area based on effective engagement with the community.

A Community Planning Foundation Programme (PDF 1736kb) Opens in a new window. has been developed to assist councils prepare for this new duty.

General Power of Competence

This will enable a council, in broad terms, to act with similar freedom to an individual, unless there is a law to prevent it from doing so.  It would provide a council with the ability to act in its own interest and to develop innovative approaches to addressing issues in its area.

NI Direct: Local Government is Changing

A video is available on NI Direct explaining local government reform. Please click here to view.

Further Information